Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments

I’m so lame with titles, you know?

Right. Thought you haven’t noticed haha. But bear with me. Be happy I didn’t write ‘Why I liked Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments.’

Attachments - Rainbow Rowell_2


I won’t even spoil you with anything because we all know that this is a chick lit and chick lits are supposed to end with happy ever afters. I don’t like reading those kinds of stuff since I have the impression that happy endings are forced and shallow. But I read Attachments. And, yes, it didn’t fail me in that aspect. Still it made me happy so I’m giving it four stars.

The thing is… it’s really funny. It kept me going. The humor, I mean. I love the email exchanges between Beth and Jennifer and the striking contrasting vibes that the book gives off when the focus shifts to Lincoln. This is even better emphasized with the difference on their working hours. Beth is a movie critic and Jennifer is a copy editor. Both of them usually work at daytime. Lincoln, on the other hand, is an IT tech who works in an isolated, dark and lonely room (at least in the way I imagine it), creepily checking flags in people’s emails during the graveyard shift.

What else? I like Attachments because there exist no flat or one-d character (I’m talking about the characters that matter of course). Throughout the novel, you will understand Lincoln’s low self-esteem (yoh he can’t make eye contacts poor him) and directionless career. You will understand his mommy’s overbearing presence in his life and why on earth he welcomes it. You will understand why Beth can’t address her issues with her boyfriend despite the fact that she appeared so smart and articulate in her email exchanges with Jennifer. Etcetera etcetera. As far as I can remember, all my questions about the characters’ unique traits and decisions are all answered the moment I turned the last page.

Speaking of lasts, the last few chapters are, as I said, a downer. I expect no less from a chick lit. However, it’s salvaged by Lincoln’s line (don’t know if this is verbatim): Do you believe in love before love at first sight?

I know.

It’s kind of corny and it’s triggered by Beth’s “Do you believe in love at first sight?” (which is obviously far worse than Lincoln’s line) but his accurately defines romances built in the world of cyberspace. My aunt almost married a French lawyer (whom she has never met) after months of exchanges in Y!M messenger only if he didn’t die. I’ve seen how their relationship progressed so I do think my words imply some sense of credibility. ?? or not.

Ugh. Why am I even trying to explain this?

Anyway. Yeah. The last few chapters.

I totally love the awkwardness and spontaneity by the end of the novel. Awkwardness because it explains Beth’s world outside her email exchanges with Jennifer and because it satisfies my stereotypes on writers. If you disagree, I really don’t care. I love stereotyping people haha.

Spontaneity because, again, it accurately exemplifies love built on virtual space. You don’t care about making the right decisions or making the right justifications for all the nonsense that’s transpired because, somehow, you just have to trust the other party.

That’s pretty much it. It’s not quotable. It’s not a story with moral lessons (‘cept for the underlying message that you should try to lead an independent life with direction). If anything, it kind of teaches you that some violations of ethical standards in the internet are fine as long as you do them in the name of love. It’s creepy if you think about it. But I’m still going to give it a four because I enjoyed it very much.

I  hope you will do as well if you ever consider reading it!

Offing now because my cat is seriously pissing me off.

Love me. Hate me. XOXO

2 thoughts on “Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments

Leave a Reply

